Elton John announced on social media that he’s releasing his new, star-studded album, ‘The Lockdown Sessions,’ on October 22.

The album is a collection of collaborations recorded remotely during the 2020 lockdown, and will feature 16 songs with artists including Dua Lipa, Charlie Puth, Lil Nas X, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Eddie Vedder, Stevie Nicks, Brandi Carlile, Stevie Wonder and many more.

Sir Elton said in a press release: “The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album. But, as the pandemic went on, one‐off projects kept cropping up. Some of the recording sessions had to be done remotely, via Zoom, which I’d obviously never done before. Some of the sessions were recorded under very stringent safety regulations: working with another artist, but separated by glass screens. But all the tracks I worked on were really interesting and diverse, stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory. And I realized there was something weirdly familiar about working like this. At the start of my career, in the late ‘60s, I worked as a session musician. Working with different artists during lockdown reminded me of that. I’d come full circle: I was a session musician again. And it was still a blast.”

To  pre-order the “The Lockdown Sessions”, head here.


Editorial credit: Tony Norkus / Shutterstock.com